peanuts

Nuts have not been welcome in my house for the last 20 years. Let me clarify–peanuts, almonds, cashews, brazil, macadamia, hazelnut, and walnuts. For the whole time my son, Stephen, has been on this earth, I have not been able to eat any of these nuts. It all began when I had a reaction to candy coated chocolate while baking. Testing showed that I would have a severe anaphylactic reaction to peanuts and almonds, so even the nuts that irritated me were eliminated from my life.

A couple times in the last year, I accidentally consumed nuts. One time it was potato chips cooked in peanut oil and the other was almond flavored crackers (Thank, Colleen:^). I didn’t react with either. Then there was the time when I ate pistachios, which are a drupe, and I realized they had peanut oil. Luke, Stephen, and I were traveling to a soccer game. I was in the passenger seat and Stephen was directly behind me. When I realized what I did, I opened the car window and spit out the pistachios in the rain. The wind and rain blew it all over Stephen! But hey I was all right!

In addition to nuts, I had been positive for dairy, shellfish, tomato (in the spring), melon (in the fall) allergies. As a vegetarian this severely limits me and makes me a tough dinner date. I’m not the person you ask to go out for a pizza.

Finally, I became sick of not knowing and went to an ENT for some testing. Today I got back my shocking results!

milk

Dairy absolutely negative reaction.

nuts

Nuts are a go with the exception of hazelnuts. This means that peanuts are no longer life threatening.

shellfish

Shellfish is on!

I was floored. All these years I haven’t eaten these foods and now I can. I immediately went to the grocery store and bought shrimp. Tonight I made a shrimp and rice fajita bowl. With trepidation and excitement, I tried it.

shrimpdish

Success! My first shrimp dish in years, and three hours later, I feel good!

pizza

What’s next? Anyone want to meet for pizza? All nuts are welcome!

2 thoughts on “All Nuts Welcome!

  1. What a life lesson in “checking again”. We’ve had a lot of allergy tests done in the house and one has to wonder what’s changed. #Enlightened and BTW CONGRATULATIONS and welcome back to less life-threatening eating!

    1. The testing is more accurate, but it’s still trial and error. I was told to eliminate a food for a month then eat it for four days. If I react then it’s a cyclical allergy, which means I shouldn’t eat it every day. It’s tough to track, but worth it. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

